Which Statement Describes The Schengen Agreement

The Danish territories are not part of the European Union or the Schengen area, and visas for Denmark are not automatically valid in these regions. However, in both areas, there is no border control for arrivals from the Schengen area and air or sea carriers are responsible for carrying out pre-board document checks, as is the case for travel within the Schengen area. Citizens of EFTA countries can travel to faeces and Greenland with a passport or ID card, while citizens of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden can use any acceptable identification (for example. B driver`s licenses or bank cards that are not recommended, as planes could be diverted to Scotland in case of fog). [97] [98] Holders of local border traffic permits may spend up to 3 months entering the border area of the country that issued the permit (this period is much wider than the “90 days over a 180-day period” normally granted to third-country nationals visiting the Schengen area). [274] Visa liberalisation negotiations between the EU and the Western Balkans (excluding Kosovo) began in the first half of 2008 and ended in 2009 (for Montenegro, Northern Macedonia and Serbia) and 2010 (for Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina). Prior to the total abolition of visas, the countries of the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Northern Macedonia and Serbia) had signed “visa easing agreements” with the Schengen states in 2008. Visa facilitation agreements should, at the time, reduce wait times, reduce visa fees (including free visas for certain categories of travellers) and reduce red tape. In practice, however, the new procedures have proven to be longer, heavier and more costly, and many have complained about the ease of obtaining visas before mediation agreements come into force. [290] [291] [292] A Schengen visa or visa exemption does not allow the traveller to enter the Schengen area, but allows the traveller to apply for entry to the crossing point. The Schengen border code lists the requirements that third-country nationals must meet in order to enter the Schengen area.

To this end, a national of a third country is a person who does not enjoy the right to free movement (i.e. a person who is not an EU national, of the EEA, Switzerland or the United Kingdom, or a family member of a person in possession of a residence card marked “family member of a European Union citizen” or “family member of an EEA or CH citizen”). Of the 27 EU Member States, 22 are participating in the Schengen area. Of the five EU Member States that are not part of the Schengen area, four – Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania – are legally required to join the territory in the future, while the other – Ireland – maintains an opt-out. The four member states of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, are not members of the EU, but have signed under the Schengen Agreement. Three European micro-states that are not members of the European Union, but which are enclaves or half-enclaves within an EU member state – Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City – are de facto part of the Schengen area.

error: Selection of text is disabled on this page.